Curtain Rods on a Budget

Alrighty soooo I haven’t finished my curtains yet… I will eventually, I just want to use the blindstitch at work and haven’t had the chance to stay late yet.

Anyway I thought I would share an easy and inexpensive curtain rod solution that I discovered while browsing pinterest. The cheapest rods I found that were more than just a lightweight cafe rod were still close to $15 and nothing too special. Thanks to Lowes I was able to buy a 5 ft piece of metal conduit  for $1.68 (they can always cut it down for you but I think this is a nice size for a single window if you have enough wall space on either side.) They had brackets for $4 a piece… or you can use the conduit clips fastened to angle irons totally about $5 for 4! This is a nice option because you can always customize your return amount depending on how deep your window sill and frame are.

Image

I saw suggestions for using cute drawer pulls as finials for just a couple dollars a piece. However… RUN NOW… to Bed Bath and Beyond and you can snag these ball finials on clearance 2 for $1.99 (they are labeled for a kids room but they look pretty adult to me.)

Image

 

Since the conduit is hollow I will have to secure the finial, I think I will cut cut down some wine corks to pop them in but others have suggested using pieces of a wooden dowel or other scrap wood.

I thought I would share for anyone who was looking for a substantial rod but trying to keep to a budget – the metal finish is just fine for me but once it warms up… I do love a good coat of spray paint!

 

One comment

Leave a comment