Help me pick a new sewing machine, pretty please!

Happy Holidays!

 

After Christmas I am going to finally get myself a new sewing machine, my poor basic Kenmore has been with be since for 10 years but it hasn’t wanted to really cooperate for a large chunk that time. I am looking forward to spending more time sewing rather that yelling at my machine. Thankfully my grandmother’s singer has helped me survive to this point but it is only a straight stitch and need a little bit of versatility.

I am looking for any and all suggestions from you other sewer’s out there. What do you like or not like? I really stick to sewing clothing, accessories and some home dec. I have no need for embroidery and quilting features. I use industrial machines at work so I am use to something that has speed and power.

I have always heard wonderful things about Bernina however my only experiences with them have not been great at all…
Brother of course in another brand that everyone raves about but I have not used them. I have really enjoyed a couple of Janome’s.

help! Are you missing anything on your machine that you would really like or were surprised by something you thought you would never use?

One comment

  1. char83

    When looking for a sewing machine, I wanted a sewing machine that has adjustable stitch length & width, presser foot adjustments, be able to sew a variety of fabrics (my previous one didn’t like knit fabric). I just got my new Pfaff Ambition Essential at the beginning of December. It was able to handle all the doll clothes I threw at it one weekend. No skipped stitching in the denim jeans.

Leave a Reply

